Memories and lessons learned

Aside

I figured out the purpose of writing this blog

When my father passed away, I dove into a severe depression, which I’m still struggling to crawl my way out of. My world went spiraling out of control and I had no idea how to stop it. I tried seeing a counselor, I tried anti-depressants. I moved away from my closest friends to be with my mother so that I could help support her. However, I lost my own support system in the process. I would’ve liked to have kept training jiu jitsu. The exercise and the support of teammates would’ve made a world of difference, I’m sure. But I didn’t have a job and jiu jitsu is an expensive lover.

I’ve also been struggling with what to do with my blog. I like being creative and writing can be a good form of therapy. So, for the time-being, that’s what this blog will morph into. My personal therapy session. But rather than bore you with my feelings and what happened to me today, I’m going to share stories my father told me and lessons I learned from him. He was my favorite teacher.

For those of you lucky enough to never have suffered a bout of depression, I’m going to provide you a link to a wonderful blog post about what depression is like. For me personally, some of the things it describes happened in another order, but that’s not really the point. This is quite clever and completely worth the time to check out: Hyperbole and a Half

Hyperbole and a Half: Depression Part Two

Hyperbole and a Half: Depression Part Two

2 responses

  1. Jessie

    I love this. I love her creepily animated brain, and also that it took just a piece of corn to turn everything around…

    May 30, 2013 at 6:46 pm

  2. I’m still looking for my kernel of corn… but I have some hope now, so that’s good.

    May 30, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Leave a Reply

