Memories and lessons learned

Breaking fast…

Tonight I decided to break my fast at the Afghan restaurant on University Blvd, Sultan’s Palace. In keeping with the title of this blog, I decided it was only fitting to order… wait for it… BOLAANEE!

To start off, I ordered a dough (pronounced doe-gh… the “gh” makes a “ghayn” sound if you’re familiar with Arabic or Persian… if not, basically, you’ll need a lot of phlegm). Dough is a yogurt-based drink. You can get it with or without mint (I like mint). For me, it reminds me of summertime just as much as a juicy watermelon. My mom would make a pitcher of this to drink along with dinner or lunch.

Dough and Salad

Mint yogurt drink and house salad with spicy dressing

 My good friend, Toni, joined me for dinner tonight and she ordered vegetable sambosas with chutney and kofta.  The vegetable sambosas are filled with spiced potatoes and peas, the chutney is a spicy green dipping sauce, and kofta are Afghan meatballs simmered in a tomato-based sauce.

Iftar dinner

Sultan’s Palace is more than just an ethnic restaurant with good food, the ambiance there is quite cute as well.  All along the sides of the restaurant, the owners have designed private little nooks that couples or groups can sit together and enjoy their meals.  Guests sit on comfy little pillows on the floor under a silk canopy.

Booth

One of several private booths at Sultan's Palace

Leave a Reply

